Google Group Settings
Google Groups have some settings as the default. This article outlines how to change the settings and some of the options available. For a full description of settings an options, see Google's support article.
Changing the Settings
Important
Only the Group manager can change Group settings. See Google's support article on changing the roles of Group members.
Open Google Groups from within another Google app or by visiting groups.google.com
Select the Group you want to manage.
On the left side, select "Group Settings".
Useful settings to consider:
Who can see group
This can be set so that only members can see the group, organization members can see the group, or so that anyone on the web can see the group
Who can join the group
This can be set so that Organization members can opt in, organization members can ask to opt in, or only invited people can join. If you want people to be able to opt in, set this to "organization users only"
Allow external members
This will set it so non-uni accounts can join the group. If only members of the uni.edu domain should be able to join, set this to OFF.
Who can post
This sets who can send to the group email address. Some groups make sense for only the manager to send, other groups want all members to send. For some groups, it makes sense for the general public to be able to email the group.
Who can view members
Who should be able to see the list of members? You can set it so that only managers can see the list, or that members can see who other members are.
Conversation history
Keeps a copy of emails sent to the groups under Conversations in the Group interface
Email footer
Any group that should allow users to opt out of communications should include the standard Groups footer. This contains information on opting out.
Important
Make sure that you choose the Save option to save the changes after updating group settings.
Renaming a Google Group
The Group's manager can change the display name of the Group by:
Select the Group
On the left side, select "Group Settings".
Type the new name under "Group Name". Note: this only changes the display name of the group, not the email address.