Google Shared Drive

Google Shared Drive

Shared drives are special folders in Google Drive that you can use to store, search, and access files with a team. Shared drive files belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay in the shared drive so your team can keep sharing information and work anywhere, from any device.

Google has an excellent article describing the features of Shared Drives and how they compare to My Drive, as well as best practices for using them.

How do I request a new Shared Drive?

To request a new Shared Drive, complete this request in Service Hub.

Important

Shared Drives can only be requested by faculty or staff.

Accessing the Shared Drive

Once you have access to a Shared Drive (either as the owner or if it's been shared with you), it will appear on the left in Google Drive:

Sharing or Unsharing the Shared Drive

See Google's support article on sharing or unsharing the Shared Drive with others.